Get Up And Try

So last night I ran a 10k. It was a great fundraiser for a local charity that is doing wonderful work and that one of my bosses has been involved with for a while. Anyway, a bunch of the girls from the office were going to walk the 5k, but I wanted the miles. You know, goals. So I ran the 10k and finished just a few minutes after they did!

Generally I run with friends now. It’s much more fun for me. None of the ladies I’ve been running with were doing this, so I picked up some new earbuds so I could blast some tunes instead.

I’m not even sure what I was thinking when I chose the Pink station on Spotify yesterday, but about 4 miles into my run a song came on and just made me think. It’s good to think about something else when you’re running 6.2 miles!

I realize the song talks about love and relationships, but the song Try was the one that really got me moving when my motivation was slipping. You see, with all the struggles I’ve had lately, I’ve not been feeling all that successful as an athlete. But I get up and try!

Every time I lace up my shoes and throw on a headband to get out and run a few miles I get stronger. I don’t let my fears win. I get up and try!

What makes an amateur like me keep going? It’s not like I have a chance of winning a medal, right? I’m not even close to the front of the pack! Why bother pushing myself to run at all?

Why do you keep going, even when the odds are against you? What makes you feel like a rock star?

A lot of songs got played in the hour I was running last night. Lots of angry kick-ass songs! Why was this one the one that got to me? I’m sure it was the chorus more than anything, but it’s a song I’ve liked for a while.

Where there is desire there is gonna be a flame. Where there is a flame someone’s bound to get burned. But just because it burns doesn’t mean you’re gonna die. You gotta get up and try, and try, and try! You gotta get up and try, and try, and try!

To me this can be applied to any struggle. I have a desire to get back to how I felt before all these changes were happening. I want to feel strong and lean and happy. It might hurt me a little, but I gotta try!

What are you working toward? Will you get up and try today?

Leave a Reply

