What Do You Say?

What do you say to yourself? Are you telling yourself that you are worth the effort? That you are special and deserve to be happy?

If you’re not, why not? You are an amazing human being!

Last night was my Tuesday Urban Herd run with my friends. My leg still hurts enough that I wasn’t feeling like I could run, but the two young ladies that I’ve forged a friendship with were planning on me being there. We were also planning on a quick trip to a new brew pub we had heard of in town. The three of us all enjoy craft brews and have decided to make a little tradition every few weeks of hitting a place we haven’t tried!

So I wanted to go. Let’s face it, I don’t have much in the way of a social life lately!

Instead of feeling down about it and skipping out, I put on my shoes and went for a walk while the girls ran. We met back up after and hit the pub! Totally worth it!

Instead of telling myself that I was a failure because I couldn’t run, I put some positive words in my ears and in my head and made good use of my time!

I walked nearly two miles and learned something new. I think that was an amazing use of my half hour! I made myself proud instead of whining about missing my run.

See, I have a tendency to be pretty negative to myself, but never to other people. I love on people all day long and I wouldn’t change that about myself. I’m starting to love on myself as well, and it feels pretty darn good!

I’m not a failure because my plans aren’t working out. I just need to find a new plan!

I’m smarter for taking that walk and listening to the program I’m working through and learning more about nutrition and how the body works. I made an amazing choice!

Today I’m picking up a shift at the restaurant to help out a friend there. Yes, that makes today a long day of a double shift, but I can handle it. I wasn’t going to run anyway, so I might as well make some extra money! Tomorrow I can rest.

Today I’ll tell myself how strong I am to keep going when I could let a setback get me down. I know there are better things ahead. I’m one strong cookie and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

2 thoughts on “What Do You Say?

Leave a Reply

