Happy Mother’s Day

Happy Mother’s Day, friends!

Whether you are a mom, have a mom, know a mom… I believe we are all allowed to celebrate this day! It should be a day spent with someone you love and if you can’t do that, spend it remembering those who are far away.

I know that for some who have lost their mothers, today may be emotional and sad, but I hope you can find some joy in the legacy your mom left behind.

For me and others like me who will likely not see their kids today, I’m going to choose to remember years when I was up to my elbows in dirty faces and tripping over toys and snuggling every night before putting my little toe heads to bed each night. I’ll never forget how sweet my little boys once were, and I’ll never stop loving them with all my heart!

I’m thankful today for my own mom. She will be present as we celebrate today at my beautiful sister’s home with a nice lunch and just some time together. I truly believe that’s all she ever wants, just to spend time with her kids and grandkids when she can. I know that’s what my sis and I want as well; time with her and with our kids.

Since my kids have chosen to live in different places, I won’t see them today. Well, I don’t think I will anyway. That’s OK, but I do hope they call me at some point. It’s hard not seeing them every day, but it sure gives me a sense of what my own mom went through when both my sister and I left for college just a year apart!

If you have your mom, call her. Give her a hug if you can. Tell her just how much you love and appreciate her.

If your mom is no longer with us, remember her. Talk about her with others who knew her. Tell your kids about your favorite memories of your mom. Don’t forget how much your mom loved you and just wants you to have the best life possible.

If you’re alone on this day or working and away from family, I hope you can take a moment and give some love to a mom somewhere. Spread some smiles in whatever way you can!

I’ve been seeing lots of posts from my friends with their kids going to prom and graduating high school and even college lately. It makes my heart happy to see so many happy parents! Since my kids have chosen paths that don’t include these milestones, I will admit to some mixed feelings seeing these. But I have decided to celebrate with my friends instead of feeling sorry for missing out.

My kids may not be following the dreams I had for them, but they are doing what makes them happy and I have to just love them where they are, if that makes sense!

No matter what, my boys are MY babies! I will always be their mom and I will always love them and be there for them. Just like my mom will always be there for me and my sister! I do love that girl… isn’t she cute????

She may kill me for putting her picture on my blog for the world to see, but she has no idea how beautiful she is to me! This was taken a couple of years ago at my sister’s birthday party. It was a very happy celebration!

Happy Mother’s Day, beautiful friends.

Leave a Reply

