Another Day Passes

Mother’s Day was really nice. I spent the morning helping to lead worship at church. Spent the afternoon with family. My son who lives three hours away called so we could chat. It was a beautiful day!

But something was definitely missing.

My other son never called. He never responded to our calls and texts all week, so I wasn’t surprised by this, but I can’t say it didn’t hurt a little.

My kids never did prom or graduation like most kids and I’m feeling more resentful of this lately. That’s hard for me to admit, but it’s true. I’m happy for all my friends and their amazing kids, but I’m jealous.

But another day passes and I don’t get to hug my kid and tell him I love him. He has pulled so far away he won’t even stay in touch, and it hurts.

I know I have to let him forge his own path, and I am doing that, but it still hurts.

I realize I have a lot to be thankful for, and I truly don’t take that for granted.

Just wish I could stop being jealous for a minute.

Leave a Reply

