Happy Friday!

Yes, it’s Friday!  Who loves Fridays? Even though I work all day, I really do like Fridays and I’ll be loving them even more after this weekend.

I have two jobs that I truly enjoy. Technically I have three jobs, but one of them is definitely taking a back burner lately. So the two I do each week bring me a certain amount of happiness that I look forward to, even on Friday.

This is the beginning of a long weekend for some, and for me it’s the last that I’ll actually be on the schedule for both Friday and Saturday nights. I’ve been doing this for like six months and it’s wearing on me, physically and mentally. So I have requested to not be on the schedule for Saturday, leaving me free to pick up for others who might need a day off once in a while.

You see, I really do like my job! It’s fun, and I love who I work with! The extra money is really helping our family get ahead on some bills and help our son when he needs it to as he’s working so hard in school. I’m not ready to give it up!

But my marriage needs me to put some priority in our relationship. That’s hard to do when the one night hubby is home is taken up by me being at work every single weekend.

We are training some new staff, so they requested I keep on this one more Saturday, which I’ve happily agreed to do and then starting next week it will just be Friday. I’m sure I’ll still work 1-2 Saturdays and probably a day here and there during the week as well, to fill in when people need off. I think it’s the best thing I can do for my mental health!

So yes, I love Friday! I get the opportunity to work with some awesome people and have some fun while earning some money. Sounds like a good day to me!

What makes this one even sweeter is that it’s a long holiday weekend! Memorial Day means an extra day off for some, but it’s also a day to remember those who fought and died for our freedom in this country.

Sure, I’ll love not working on Sunday or Monday, but spending time with my family means everything to me. I grew up in a family that had quite a few veterans who had served in a few different branches of the military, so patriotism was definitely a part of our upbringing. Some of them are gone now, but the memories live on. I’m hoping to get to the local parade and see some vets be honored and the flags be laid on the graves down at the cemetery. Always a touching sight.

No matter what we do this weekend, I hope we spend some time with people we love. That goes for who ever is reading this as well. Time with people is really all that matters. I learn that lesson more each year. Spend some time with someone who matters to you.

Let me know how you plan to spend your weekend! And hands up if you love Fridays!

Leave a Reply

