First Things First

I have a lots of changes to make in my life…. again. Seven years ago I started basically from scratch and I’d like to think I’m not THAT far back again, but I have a long way to go to be where I want to be in regards to my fitness.

Yesterday I did day one of Focus T25. It’s one of those programs that when it came out I was already “beyond” it in my fitness level and never found the time to play around with it, let alone dedicate a block of weeks to finishing it.

Thanks to the Beachbody On Demand streaming service (which is a crazy good deal) it’s in my library and I figured I could make 25 minutes a day work in my schedule!

So yesterday was day one and while I was humbled even following the modifier most of the time, it felt great to push myself again. Today was no different! I followed the modifier again because I’m not sure I’m up to jumping just yet, and I’m also planning to try and run again this evening. Should be interesting as I haven’t run in over a month.

But it’s time to challenge myself. I’ll start slowly and work on my attitude and mood first with some healthy exercise, even though I know darn well that what I put in my face matters even more than working out when it comes to losing weight. I’ll get there too, very soon.

For me it’s first things first. I started this way last time and I know that for me personally, I have to make a mental shift before I can do the hard work of changing my eating habits. It’s always been the hardest part for me and likely always will be.

I’m thankful that I’ve done this before. Because I’ve been down this road before and have found success I know what works for me. My body is changing, aging isn’t being very kind to me, but at least I have an idea of where and how I need to start. I’m all about baby steps. Committing to my workouts is my first baby step.

Might not seem like a lot to some people, but I know myself well enough to know it’s all I can handle for the moment. Yes, I’m going to eat a little better, but I don’t think I’ll start tracking again this week at least. Yes, I know that means my changes will come slower than they should and I’m OK with that. I have the tools. Baby steps means I won’t overwhelm my system! It’s more mental than anything else, I know this!

So I’m proud of myself for getting up and moving today. I pressed play. I worked up a sweat.

And I’ll do it again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

