Everything Hurts

Day four of my program and I’m reminded of two things:

  1. I’m really out of shape.
  2. This won’t last forever!

For real, every program I’ve ever done has made me sore as it concentrated on muscles I’d been neglecting. This is no different except that I’ve been neglecting EVERYTHING!

So I know I just need to keep going which is my plan. I just need to do the work and not give up on myself. I can do this!

I think anytime you make a change in your life there’s a little bit of discomfort. For this one I feel it in my muscles, but sometimes it’s evident in other parts of your life. Discomfort doesn’t mean you’re dying!

Right now with my son off at school it’s a discomfort. I don’t see him on a regular basis. I miss him and of course a mom worries. But I know it will have a big pay off at the end! Life is changing for him and our whole family, but this discomfort will lead to some amazing things, so it’s best to push through.

My goal of running the 907 miles from Michigan to South Carolina is pretty much on the back burner right now. Not being able to run for over a month means I won’t likely make it all the way there, but that’s OK. I’m going to keep my mapping going and see where I end up anyway!

There’s always next year!

I’m not going to let a setback throw me completely off the rails. I just need to adjust my focus and go for it.

That’s one of the reasons I chose Focus T25 to start over with. Number one, it’s by Shaun T who I adore…. number two, it’s 25 minutes a day which I can fit in… number three, it’s all about focus.

There’s no reason anyone can’t make a change in their life, in their health, in their fitness. Some people like to go all in at once an change their daily schedule to add in gym time while also changing every eating habit they have. That’s not me. I’m a baby step kind of person.

This discomfort is going to lead to some amazing things. I know this. I can feel it already! I just need to keep going and that’s exactly what I plan to do.

When I went for my run on Tuesday with my group I got to talk to a young lady who describes herself as a sporadic runner. She was liking the pace I set for myself so we ran together. I did need a couple of walk breaks because I’m just that out of shape but you know what? She walked with me because she loved that I was not being hard on myself about where I was in my ability!

Sometimes we need grace in how we talk to ourselves! That’s where I’m at right now. Yes, I need to work hard and do my best, but it’s about MY best…. not yours. You have to find your best! The more we do that, the better we all will get!

It hurts now, but one day it’ll be your warm up. No matter what new muscles we use today, they will get stronger as long as we keep using them and stop letting fear or laziness get in the way!

Let’s do this!

Leave a Reply

