Moving Forward

Last night I ran. This is nothing new, of course, but then again it sort of is because yesterday I made up my mind to stop beating myself up about how slow I am and how much I’ve let my fitness slip this last 18 months.

So I ran.

Actually, I downloaded a podcast I used to use that cues you to run/walk in intervals. This is a GREAT way to not only get started running, but to get back into running when you’ve taken the kind of break I have.

I met a friend and told her that was my plan and she didn’t mind slowing down with me, so we did it, and it felt like I actually accomplished something! We ended up going 3 miles, which is awesome. The running intervals were hard, but I think we were running faster than I thought I could! The walking let me recover enough that I could run again!

Yes, I was complaining about it by about half way through, but I’m so happy I did it!

There was a 5k in town last night. A race I’ve done several times, and it’s lots of fun! It’s a big event but neither of us wanted to pay to run a race at this point, we just wanted some miles. So we ran before the race, sat at the local pub and watched the start and finish while enjoying a pint! Truly a great Tuesday! The perfect weather helped it even more!

Anyway, I know that slow running counts as much as fast running. I’ve always said that! But there’s something about making a decision to step back and “start over” that takes my heart out of the equation for me. I’m going to get back into shape and I’m going to do it the right way! Baby steps!

It’s what worked for me in 2010, it will work again.

I’m going to run/walk again tomorrow, even if I have to go alone.

It doesn’t matter if I’m slow. I’m a runner.

Leave a Reply

