Classic Overpacker

Yes, I’m traveling today, but not until later. I checked in to my flight online and got all the emails, texts, etc. Now to get my haircut and run a couple of errands and most importantly… finish packing!

This is truly the hardest part for me. I think it’s because I get anxious I’m going to forget something important, but every time I go anywhere I over pack!

I’m not talking about an extra outfit or two, it’s usually like my whole closet. You never know!

But I can’t do that this time. I’m flying, which limits me right there, and I’m going somewhere warm enough that no heavy sweaters/jackets will be involved. I am packing a couple of lightweight layers because air conditioning can make me really cold, but that’s it.

At this moment I have all the clothes I think I’m bringing laying out all over the floor of the living room. I’m a visual person so seeing it all there makes sense to me. I have a few more things to see if I can fit in, but we will see what happens. I’m only packing two pairs of shoes and one extra pair of sandals (wearing one also)! I think that’s a record low for me!

Anyway, several more things to do today, so I will keep this short. I just wanted to share my pain of being a chronic overpacker! It’s crazy to think about leaving the house without my entire house! Not sure why we are so attached to “stuff”. I think that’s a whole other post!

Fingers crossed I can get everything I need in one smaller suitcase and a carry on! I think I can, I think I can….. we shall see!

Leave a Reply

