Parenting…

It was 21 years ago today I became a mom. I can hardly believe it’s been that long, but my baby is now an adult and off on his own. I miss him like crazy, but I’m also so proud of his work ethic and how he’s chosen his future. There have been bumps in the road, but he’s come out stronger than I could have imagined!

I remember so clearly the day we brought him home. I was so nervous! He was so tiny! But he was such a good baby. So adorable, just picture perfect! He grew to be a sweet little toddler, one that was actually fun to be around!

His early school years were just precious. Always learning, telling stories, the occasional tantrum… but completely adorable. School wasn’t easy for him, but he got along well with others. He played a few sports, played in middle school band… nothing really stuck with him, but he liked to try new things.

High school was tough. He pretty much gave up on himself for a while, which broke this mama’s heart, but he was struggling to figure things out. I see that now.

Last November he made the decision to go to school, become a certified auto mechanic and start living the future he wanted. When he left last month it was hard on me, but I knew he was doing a good thing. I’m so proud of him! He will always be my baby, my little buddy, but he’s a man now.

He’s 21 today.

Time sure flies! This was him with his Great-Grandma on his second birthday! Clearly, he didn’t want to be on her lap! But he was a wiggly kiddo!

IMG_5106

This is us last summer. He’s tough to take pictures with lately. But I think he’s pretty handsome!

IMG_1412

Anyway… I love you, Tom. No matter what, you’re my baby and I love you. Happy birthday!

Leave a comment